Loading... Please wait...

Dogtired Profile – Shelley Panton

Posted by Dogtired on

Shelley Panton lives south of the Yarra in Melbourne where she runs her eponymous pottery studio and boutique, Shelley Panton Store. Her dog – a silky seven-year-old black Lab named Jessie – regularly hangs out in the shop, where she greets visitors of both the two- and four-legged kind. We sat down with Shelley to find out how the pair met, and where they go when they’re not at work.

Tell us how you met Jessie – were you looking for a particular breed?

I adopted Jessie through Luv-a-Lab four years ago. She had been chained up in a back yard by her first owners; she got off to a rough start.

It was love at first sight for us both. When I went to meet her at the foster home I bent down on my knee at the front door and she came running to me and sat down on my lap. I burst into tears,knowing she was a good egg just wanting to be loved. Now she enjoys two walks a day in a loving home and she has her own fan club of visitors at the store.

When I adopted Jessie I had just opened my first store in the back streets of Middle Park, where I lived out back. So she became my shop dog who had the luxury of sleeping on the sunny nature stripe most days. Several of my customers had Labradors and I thought they held a great temperament for being around children and people all day long. I also wanted a breed that would enjoy long walks on the beach.

Jessie is really affectionate and well natured with other dogs. She’s particularly cute when she curls up to sleep, tucking her nose under her paws. She loves running alongside me when I ride my bike, too.

Where's your favourite place to take Jessie?

West St Kilda/Middle Park Beach or for an early dinner at 38 Chairs in South Yarra. She sleeps under the table while I have a Campari and quick bite on our way home. We have just moved near Fawkner Park, so we go there most mornings before we go to work. We also enjoy the RSPCA’s Million Paws walk.

Do you take your dog on holidays or weekends away?

I take her on weekends away if I’m visiting dog-friendly friends or places. Otherwise one of my friends will come to house sit or she’ll go to her boyfriend Teddy the Spoodle’s house.


Visit Shelley and Jessie at Shelley Panton Store, 440 Malvern Road, Prahran.

Check them out on Instagram: @shelleypantonstore